Top 7 Lighting Certifications You Need to Know: UL, Energy Star & More – CINOTON
Skip to content
Which Top 7 Lighting Certifications Should You Know?

Which Top 7 Lighting Certifications Should You Know?

Like any other industrial product, quality is highly essential for commercial lighting as well. Purchasing quality lighting for commercial purpose ensures complying with lighting safety standards and being energy efficient. 

But how can you ensure that the lighting you purchase is of good quality? Does the lighting ensures the safety of working environment? Is the light energy efficient and eco friendly? 

One way is through the various lighting certifications. LED lighting certifications not only ensure the quality, safety and energy efficiency of the light but also the lighting product compliance with the lighting product regulations of the Government. 

By checking these lighting certifications you can ensure whether it is safe, environment friendly and complies with all lighting standards. 

What are the benefits of lighting certification?

  • Safety

The main purpose of lighting certification is to ensure the safety of the product. A product that is certified is less likely to cause accidents from burns and electric shocks. This is particularly important in commercial spaces where the safety of the workers is very important. 

  • Credibility and trust of customers

A certified lighting product can gain the credibility and trust of the customers. The customers know that the product has undergone stringent quality and safety checks and hence is less likely to go wrong and cause accidents. 

  • Environment friendly

Being eco-friendly is crucial in commercial spaces. Lights with proper certifications are eco-friendly and causes less harm to the environment. The amount of wastage is also less in case of such products. Thus, the company can vouch for sustainability by using certified lights. 

What are the different types of lighting certifications you should be aware of?

UL Certification  (Underwriters Laboratories)

UL certification is the largest global certification related to safety. It applies to a wide range of products like electrical and electronic devices, industrial equipment, fire and security devices and building material.

UL certification for commercial lights ensure that lighting products are safe from electrical shock and fire hazard and that they comply with commercial lighting standards. It's widely recognised and essential for most lighting products used for commercial purpose.

Apart from safety, UL certification also ensures the product's environmental sustainability. If a light is not UL-certified, it cannot be installed in certain places, and you cannot claim insurance coverage. UL certified lights get global recognition and have a competitive advantage. 

Energy Star

Energy Star is a certification developed by the United States Environmental Protection Agency.  This certification marks the energy efficiency of a wide range of products used in daily life like heating and cooling equipments, lighting, electronic appliances, and building products. 

As per the Environmental Protection Agency, products with Energy Star certification use less energy than products without this certification. This saves a lot on your energy bill which can ultimately bring down the operation cost. Since such products consume less energy, they are also environmentally friendly. 

Thus a lighting with Energy star certification implies that the product has undergone rigorous testing and also ensures environmental protection in lighting. It not only reduces the energy bill but also contributes towards sustainability. 

DLC Listed

DLC (DesignLights Consortium) is a non-profit organisation that certifies lighting quality. This certification focuses on energy efficiency, light pollution reduction, and improved lighting performance standards. 

DLC applies to all types of lighting like indoor and outdoor lighting, commercial lighting and horticultural lighting. A lighting with DLC certification will have high lumens per watt which shows its efficiency. 

DLC listed certification helps industry owners purchase high-quality, energy-efficient lighting, contributing to sustainability. DLC certification also offers rebates and incentives for installing energy-efficient lighting.

ETL Certification

ETL certification or Electrical Testing Laboratories certification is provided by Intertek after considering the safety standards of the product. ETL certification for lighting evaluates the electrical and fire safety of the light. By going for lights with ETL certifications, industrial accidents like burn and electrocution can be reduced to a great extent. 

Besides, ETL certification also considers whether the light follows the safety standards as put forth by the National Electrical Code.

ETL certification is considered worldwide and is a crucial mark for ensuring consumer safety. Products with an ETL certification attract a high level of confidence from consumers.

FCC Certification

FCC (Federal Communications Commission) certification is issued by an independent agency of the US Government. This certification is given to all electronic devices complying with radiation standards. 

The main aim of FCC certification is to ensure that the radiation from the electronic product do not cause harmful interference with other electronic devices. It also checks the effect the radiation has on human health. 

RoHS Compliance

RoHS (Restriction of Hazardous Substances) is a certification provided by the European union. This certification restricts the use of specific hazardous materials in electrical and electronic products, ensuring environmental safety.

The hazardous materials restricted by RoHS include mercury, lead, cadmium and certain flame retardants. 

CE Marking

CE or Conformite Europeenne marking indicates that a product conforms to European standard with respect to safety, health, and environmental protection. If a product has a CE marking it implies that the manufacturer takes the responsibility to ensure that the product meets the European safety standards. 

Products need the CE marking to be sold within the European Economic Area. CE marking is required for a range of products including construction, electromagnetic, and lighting products. 


Before purchasing a lighting fixture, it is very important to know all about the top lighting certifications. This helps you choose the quality products that comply with safety standards. 

Moreover, proper certification ensures environment friendly and energy efficient lighting, which can be beneficial in the long run. Companies can reduce energy bill to a great extent as certified lights uses less energy. 

Ensure your lighting products are certified to enjoy the benefits they offer!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published..

Cart 0

Your cart is currently empty.

Start Shopping